top of page

I am currently a senior at Pelahatchie High School and chief editor of our PHS school newspaper Hatchie Headlines. Four years ago, I never would have even dreamt up how far I have come today. I am profoundly grateful to my journalism instructor Laura Grice for gifting me with creative freedom within our publication and for my family for fueling this journey with unmatched excitement and support. I joined the journalism course my freshman year due to my heavy literary-driven past. Now, as the Chief Editor and two-time recipient of Mississippi High School Journalist of the Year Honoree, my appreciation for the journalism field only continues to grow. I know that the skills and experiences I have gained from my journalism journey will stick with me for the rest of my life. I am undyingly proud of how far our newspaper has come. Journalism has taught me the importance of communication, collaboration, and pursuing your passion. I will never forget the amazing memories I made interviewing for articles and going to conventions with my staff. Journalism has pushed me to both impact and see the world in an attentive and altruistic way. For that, I am forever grateful.



-Liam McEwan, award-winning celebrity interviewer 



This recognition is gifted based on submission of online portfolios comprising a Mississippi high school journalist's finest works. As written on MSPA's website, judges choose a number of "students as being a cut above the rest, representing the absolute finest examples of high school journalists currently enrolled in Mississippi high schools."

The Mississippi Scholastic Press Association was established in 1947 with the continuous goal in "helping Mississippi Students tell their stories." The Best of Mississippi awards category of the annual MSPA Spring Convention honors scholastic journalists through individual and publication categories. 

Best of Show entries must be student-produced and the newspaper staff must be attending convention. The following five awards were given to me in the 2020-2021, 2021-2022 school years.


View my Best of SNO awards by clicking on the button above.

bottom of page